top of page
Search
  • Deja Hood

Praise

Updated: Apr 12, 2020

The power of being a dancer and the energies that resonate


The dancers and the energy and comes from within them.

About

Praise is a reminder. A reminder that dance is just as relevant and necessary as any other profession. A reminder that dance holds energies that allow for a performance to be magical. A reminder that dancers chose this profession for their love rather than their paychecks. It is a piece about our presence being known and heard because this art and its people aren't going anywhere any time soon.


When I started choreographing this piece, I focused on four main concepts: presence, the power of the individual, the power of partnerships, and the power of unity. From my dance experiences, I gathered that these were key components that make dancing worthwhile. All these energies hold so much weight and value that I believed it only right to pay homage to them while also showing the power of dance as a whole. This blog will dive into my in-depth exploration of each of the concepts above and how I truly learned to love their amazing qualities.



Presence

Confidence is the secret ingredient behind presence. The power that grows from a high self-esteem is truly amazing. It lets people know that you're bold and serious about the business at hand. This is the liveliness that I asked from my dancers in the beginning. For them to embody this high level of boldness and seriousness, I challenged them to constantly think about the various reasons they became Dance Majors and Minors. I wanted those reasons at the forefront of their minds always, so their presence would be understood without any words.


Power of the Individual

I liked to call this the "ME" factor. Each dancer has their own code that naturally flows from within their bodies. I believe these naturalistic elements add a unique flavor into any performance. When dancers are allowed to move freely, there is no barrier behind what they can and want to do. So, although this piece was full of my movement and choreography, I allowed moments of individual freedom. Within the piece, two of these moments existed with one being choreographed and the other being complete improvisation. I did not care how they moved in these experiences as long as it showcased their natural movement and own identity.




Power of Partnerships

In many performances, there are combinations of partner and trio work. It is quite mesmerizing when this movement styles are used effectively. Partnerships show the connection between two or more energies. This is when the "ME" is transformed into an "US" or "THEM."A conversation begins to form, and another layer is added to the performance. I knew that I wanted my audience to have several layers while watching this piece so including this element came naturally. I utilized solos, partners, and trios throughout the entire piece, so the dance could have great volume. The video that I presented is one of my favorite choreographed sections because it is a great example of how partnerships work. By the time this partnership arrives in the piece, my dancers have danced for at least 3 minutes. They are reaching their point of exhaustion, but this moment causes something to happen. The second they connect with each other, it is as if they get another "jolt" of energy. In our rehearsals, I have watched this happen several times, and I believe it to be so beautiful. Partnerships bring energy, communication, and dynamics.



Power of unity

This has to be the most significant power, in my opinion. It holds so much value because it transitions between the "ME," "US," and "WHOLE."Unity does not simply mean connection in movement, but it provides connection between all energies. It hints on the idea of being stronger together. These are the experiences where dancers are no longer just themselves but rather an embodiment of one voice and one sound. Their energies are in alignment which allows for more power to be added into the performance.


Summary

Praise was my way of exploring all these elements and how they hold significance in the dance industry. The piece also gave me a chance to advocate for dancers and prove that we have a right to exist. I learned so much about myself from this piece, and I have a great time travelling on through the choreographic process. However, this piece would not have been amazing if it was not for my dedicated dancers. Thank you so much to Julianna, Claire, Jaiden, Jon, Sophie, Mackenna, Mollie, and Libby for believing in my vision. You are all beautiful dancers, and I am blessed that I had you all for this piece.



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page